Talk:Mortarion

From 1d4chan

Primarch fights and Blind[edit]

So I accidentally misspoke there when I said Blind will happen once across six turns as that only applies to Perturabo with Forgebreaker. What I meant to say is that if Blind was caused six times it will happen affect the fight once, since the other Primarch needs to roll a 6 to fail, meaning that for Blind to matter in the fights with Fulgrim he'd need to have saved 24+ wounds (that's when it becomes more likely other primarchs would fail and Fulgrim will die before he saves that many wounds), and with Perturabo he'd need to hit at least once across 4-6 rounds of combat (where it becomes more likely they'd fail to a guarantee). Lastly it needs to be the deciding factor in the fight for it to be a must to include. You can include it if you really want to normally but there's no reason to if it doesn't change anything which is why I ignored it as both Fulgrim and Perturabo with the hammer do not need Blind to beat Mortarion in a fight so I figured including it would have been pointless. An example of an extra bit that is included is why the Mortarion vs Corvus Corax section is huge, because that comes down to a very close call thanks to Hit&Run and Overwatch. If Corvus Corax butchered Mortarion then there'd be no need for it and same if Mortarion stomped Corvus. -- Triacom (talk) 06:55, 23 May 2015 (UTC)

Geronitan forgetting his helmet[edit]

So I've wondered about this in the article for a while but haven't actually changed anything, did Plague Wind drop Geronitan to his knees because he wasn't wearing a helmet, or did it do it because it's Plague Wind? It certainly killed his Terminator bodyguard who WERE wearing helmets and also did wonders to their armour. Granted I'm happy that Commanders not wearing helmets came back to bite somebody in the ass, I just think that while it was a HORRIBLE idea (attacking any Nurgle Prince with no helmet) it was not the deciding factor, I think their big mistake was them expecting Mortarion to attack them physically, rather than magically like he ended up doing as they had no plan in place for that. -- Triacom (talk) 15:29, 8 June 2015 (UTC)

Zone Mortalis[edit]

So did anyone notice that thanks to his ability to demi-teleport 10" he is rape-tacular beast in Zone Mortalis? He can cross clean through several walls, assault a unit, kill the unit, then if the heat is on, he just diddly-bops away...

  • Yes, that ability is overall really fantastic and makes him the Primarch that can earn his points back the fastest (that I've noticed anyway) thanks to his Instant Death Scythe, because he can teleport near anything that has a lot of wounds (looking at you Mechanicus) or something that costs a lot, slaughter the whole very pricey squad, and then teleport right through impassible terrain away from all the plasma guns that'll soon be pointing at him so that he can go slaughter another very pricey squad.
Funnily enough even in the Horus Heresy books they mention this, one of the worlds he was fighting on had a Zone Mortalis type of layout, and he kept teleporting through walls and butchering everything in his path. -- Triacom (talk) 05:17, 6 August 2015 (UTC)

New rules factored in yet?[edit]

I was curious: have his scythe's new rules been factored in for the math hammer yet, if it even matters against other Primarchs? I: 4 vs. unwieldy may change up some outcomes, If I'm not mistaken.

I can't see any match in which it would help him win, the ones where the other Primarchs would be going last will still end up with them outdamaging him thanks to higher Strength, which ones are you thinking of that it'll let him win? -- Triacom (talk) 08:08, 12 June 2016 (UTC)
Oh, there was no specific one in mind, I was just curious if being I: 4 as opposed to I:1 played into any of the match-ups at all, and if the math-hammer has been changed since the old book. I guess that one also applies to Angron's changes as well, in a way.

Anti-Psyker commentary[edit]

Mostly rhetorical commentary for Triacom for the sake of discussion; but I agree having two saves that add up to a statistical equivalent to an older save is an odd thing in recent editions. It could be pointed out that it only applies to Maledictions, so he gets no bonus against witchfires. Nor is this particular save bolstered by having a psyker (Librarian/Typhon/Morturg) in his his unit. It flies in the face of that email I got some time ago, but it is what it is.--Dark Angel 2020 (talk) 19:19, 20 July 2016 (UTC)

I just figured it was interesting trivia that bears mentioning, it would be like giving Marines BS3 but a piece of equipment that bumps that to BS4 (or maybe +1 To Hit with ranged attacks unless they were snap-shotting). I honestly don't get why they wrote it like that when instead it could have been something simple like giving him a +2 bonus to denying Maledictions, then again a lot of Forgeworld rules are odd and I think it might have intended to be that way (actually being a DtW roll) and maybe somebody screwed up when they typed it out, similarly to how Eidolon loses the Cumbersome rule to his Thunder Hammer when he charges, except he never had that rule to begin with, or how about Kyr Vhalen's Relic Blade? Yes I know both of those were FAQ'd and fixed in the later book, so maybe this will be changed too when the next book/FAQ comes out. -- Triacom (talk) 10:59, 21 July 2016 (UTC)

Plastic Typhus[edit]

It's likely there will be a plastic Typhus, Ahriman and Khârn got new models so Typhus probably will get one. Same may go for Lucius. I wish we had Marc Chong here (he's an admin/user on this 40K group on Facebook and he leaks all sorts of stuff all the time). Tyranid Memestealer (talk) 20:31, 25 March 2017 (UTC)

The Plastic Model Bit[edit]

I removed it because it was in the middle of the biography section. —CoolGuy99 (talk) 18:36, 27 May 2019 (GMT)

Or, since it's still relevant info, you could move it to a more appropriate section, like what I did just now. No harm done, just try to consider that for the future. --LGX-000 (talk) 18:57, 27 May 2019 (UTC)
That's fair enough, I'll try to keep that in mind from now. Thanks for being civil about it. —CoolGuy99 (talk) 18:36, 27 May 2019 (GMT)
It's an easy enough mistake to make, and I'm cool as long as people aren't being excessively/deliberately dense. --LGX-000 (talk) 00:51, 28 May 2019 (UTC)