User:Kislev Stronk

From 1d4chan
Jump to: navigation, search

/TG/heim Armies:

/TG/heim:3rd Imperial Vanguard (Imperial_Outriders)

Mounted Rules

Mounting Animals

It requires a half a warrior's move to mount or dismount a riding creature. A mount or its rider may not run or charge in the same turn that the warrior mounts or dismounts unless the rider has a Special Riding Skill that allows this.

Not Indoors

Mounts cannot normally be ridden indoors or underground, unless playing a specially devised scenario that allows this.

Dense Terrain

Riding mounts are rare both amongst the ruins of Mordheim and in the claustrophobic jungles of Lustria. The dense terrain makes riding difficult and large numbers of riders are highly ineffective. Thus in those settings a warband may only have a maximum of two mounts (not including those belonging to Hired Swords). In more open settings, such as the open fields in the countryside around Mordheim or the deserts of Khemri, a warband may have as many mounts as they can afford.

Controlling a Mount

The Special Riding Skills may be used by warriors who have a riding animal, but only after the skill Ride has been gained; warriors which come provided with a riding animal are assumed to possess the Ride skill already. Warriors without this skill may still ride animals, but must test against their Leadership if hit by any missile and at the beginning of any combat phase when a standing enemy is in base contact. If the test is failed they lose control of their mount and must roll on the Whoa, Boy! Table (see below). Note if an enemy is not standing, the mounted warrior is not considered to be in combat and thus does not need to test for loss of control.

Armour Bonus

All riding animals give their riders a + 1 armour save bonus.

Bolting Mounts

In certain circumstances, a mount may bolt. A bolting mount must make a Leadership test at the beginning of the owning player's turn; if successful it stops running, otherwise it continues fleeing. The easiest way to determine the direction a mount bolts is to use an artillery scatter dice. If you do not have one, then roll 2D6 and use the clock-face method. Taking the direction the horse is facing as 12 and directly behind as 6, the horse will bolt in the appropriate direction on the clock-face.

Leading Animals

On occasion, a warrior may want to lead a riding animal rather than riding it. A warrior may only lead one riding animal unless he has the Animal Handling skill, for that particular animal, in which case he can lead as many as he wishes. Groups of led animals are tethered together and must maintain base contact with each other; at least one must be in base contact with the warrior leading them. Riding animals that are being led do not roll for loss of control. If required to make a Leadership test (e.g when attacked by a fear causing enemy) they use the Ld of the warrior leading them. A warrior leading riding animals may move and fight as normal, but must maintain base contact at all times.

Unled Animals

Riding animals which are not being either led or ridden will remain stationary but must make a Leadership test at the beginning of their turn. If this is failed, they will bolt, using the rules above.

Losing Control

If a mounted warrior is wounded, then the player must roll on the Whoa Boy! Table. This replaces the normal injuries chart. If critical hits are suffered then roll as many times as are required, taking the most serious result.

Whoa Boy!

1-2: The rider is temporarily disorientated and his mount rears up. The rider keeps his seat but must spend his next turn stationary regaining control, unable to move or shoot. If attacked, treat the rider as fallen down.

3-4: The rider falls off his mount and is stunned, taking an additional S2 hit in the process with no armour save. In addition, roll 1D6: on a roll of 1-3, the mount immediately bolts 3D6" in a random direction and continues until it has left the table - the mount may be recovered after the battle; on a roll of 4-6, the mount remains stationary and the warrior may remount once recovered. Note: the mount does not count as unridden or unled in this instance.

5-6: The rider and his mount crash to the ground together. The rider and mount are automatically out of action. In addition, roll a D6: on a roll of 1-2 the mount lands on top of its rider, crushing him. If this happens the warrior must roll twice on the serious injuries chart after the battle. In addition, after the battle roll a D6: on a roll of 1-2 the mount was crippled or killed by the fall and removed from the warband roster.